The Alabama Association of Conservation Districts (AACD) is the unified voice of all 67 conservation districts across the state. Organized as a 501(c)(3), AACD is dedicated to cooperating with the Alabama Soil & Water Conservation Committee; supporting programs and services that conserve, enhance, and protect Alabama’s vast natural resources; and informing policy makers at the state and federal level about natural resources issues.

AACD organizes districts (counties) into six areas:

Area 1

Area 2

Area 3

Area 4

Area 5

Area 6


In August 1943, 36 district supervisors met in Auburn to establish an alliance for unified action by conservation districts. Aptly named the Alabama Association of Soil Conservation District Supervisors, the group later changed its name to the Alabama Association of Conservation Districts.


AACD is led by a board of directors of elected state and area officers: president, 1st vice president, 2nd vice president, secretary/treasurer, area vice presidents, immediate past presidents, and National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD) board designees.

Executive Committee

Bill Bailey, President
Limestone County

Micky Smith, 1st Vice President
Sumter County

Bill Godwin, 2nd Vice President
Covington County

Sue Gaines, Secretary/Treasurer
Monroe County

Dr. Carol Knight, NACD Delegate
Randolph County

Laslie Hall, Past President
Montgomery County

Area Vice Presidents

Stanley Sumners, Area 1
Marshall County

Nick McMichen, Area 2
Cherokee County

Diane McCool, Area 3
Pickens County

Jack Wadsworth, Area 4
Autauga County

Mike Birge, Area 5
Covington County

Ron Shumack, Area 6
Conecuh County


Katy Parker, Executive Director
[email protected]

Courtney Curenton, Office Assistant
[email protected]

75th Anniversary Annual Meeting Agenda